Paul newman
Check out the names below

With tickets now on sale for both the 2017 Rolex 24 at DAYTONA and 59th running of the DAYTONA 500, you may think that you have to choose one or the other. However, these drivers below are proof that you can enjoy both iconic events – separated by just a few weeks – all in the world’s only motorsports stadium.

Jamie McMurray

McMurray broke through into the NASCAR elite with his 2010 DAYTONA 500 victory, passing runner-up Dale Earnhardt Jr. with just two laps to go. Just five years later, McMurray became only the third driver to win both the Rolex 24 at Daytona and the DAYTONA 500, joining Mario Andretti and A.J. Foyt on the elite list. Co-driving the No. 02 Ford EcoBoost DP of Chip Ganassi Racing with Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan and Kyle Larson and Jamie McMurray, he captured the Rolex 24’s 53rd running by just 1.333 seconds.

Jeff Gordon

This NASCAR legend and three-time DAYTONA 500 champion teamed with 2-time Rolex 24 At DAYTONA winner Wayne Taylor Racing in 2007, co-driving with team owner Wayne Taylor, Max Angelelli and Jan Magnussen to finish third place overall.


Bill Elliott

A DAYTONA 500 champion in both 1985 and 1987, Elliott saved his best performances for ’87. That year he not only won “The Great American Race,” but also turned a 210.364 mph lap in qualifying (a record which still stands) and won the GTO class in the 1987 Rolex 24 At DAYTONA.

Jimmie Johnson

The six-time Cup Series champion has 15 career DAYTONA 500 starts, winning “The Great American Race” in 2006 and 2013; however many don’t know that he’s a seven-time starter in the Rolex 24 At DAYTONA, with two runner-up finishes (2005, 2008) co-driving Pontiac-powered prototypes.


Kurt Busch

Despite never winning a DAYTONA 500, Busch has been incredibly successful in the race, with five top-five finishes, including three second-place finishes. Both 2005 and ’08 stand out as his most memorable years as he followed up a 15th-place finish in the Daytona Prototype class during his debut in the 2005 Rolex 24 AT DAYTONA with a runner up finish in the 2005 DAYTONA 500. He returned to the Rolex 24 At DAYTONA in 2008 driving for Penske Taylor Racing. He teamed up with Helio Castroneves and Ryan Briscoe to take third place overall. The following month he had another second-place finish in the DAYTONA 500.

Tony Stewart

The second-winningest driver in DAYTONA history, Tony Stewart has six top-10 DAYTONA 500 finishes and has competed in the Rolex 24 At DAYTONA five times, twice finishing in the top five. Notably, in 2004, he teamed with Dale Earnhardt Jr. to earn a podium position, finishing third in their class.


Juan Pablo Montoya

In 2007, Juan Pablo Montoya not only made his DAYTONA 500 debut and won the NASCAR Cup Series Rookie of the Year, but also joined Chip Ganassi Racing for his first Rolex 24 At DAYTONA. He claimed Rolex 24 At DAYTONA titles in 2007 and ’08, becoming the first full-time NASCAR driver to win multiple Rolex 24 championships

Dale Earnhardt

DAYTONA’s winningest driver was a mainstay in the DAYTONA 500, memorably getting his only victory in 1998. The legendary driver competed in the Rolex 24 At DAYTONA one time, but his 2001 debut was something special. Along with his son Dale Earnhardt Jr. and sports car veterans Andy Pilgrim and Kelly Collins, he co-drove the No. 3 Chevrolet Corvette C5-R, finishing fourth overall and second in the GTS class.

Dale Earnhardt Jr.

With only two career appearances, Earnhardt Jr. has captured two podium finishes. In addition to driving alongside his father in the 2001 Rolex 24 for a second place finish in the GTS class, he ran in the teamed up with sports car champion Andy Wallace and Tony Stewart in 2004, earning a podium position with a third place finish in their group.


A.J. Foyt

Foyt is one of only three drivers to win both the Rolex 24 At DAYTONA and DAYTONA 500. A two-time winner of the Rolex 24, he earned victories in 1983 and ’85 while driving for Henn's Swap Shop Racing. His lone DAYTONA 500 victory came in 1972, driving for the legendary Wood Brothers Racing organization, edging Charlie Glotzbach by a full lap.

Mark Martin

While he was unable to break through with a DAYTONA 500 victory, fan favorite Martin was dominant in the Rolex 24 At DAYTONA in the 1990s, winning four GT class titles for Ford. In 1995 he co-drove with Academy Award-winning actor Paul Newman, helping the iconic actor become the oldest winner in the event's history by taking the title in the GTS-1 class.


Did we leave someone off the list? Let us know in the comment box below!

To see more drivers like this, join us throughout Speedweeks. Make your weekend iconic with the Rolex 24 At DAYTONA – January 28-29. Or join us for the race that means more than any other – at the place that's unlike anything else at the 2017 DAYTONA 500.

Guarantee your spot for both before they sell out. For tickets and more information, click here or call 1-800-PITSHOP.

Related Features

This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms Of Use. OK